PHS, BGHS AFJROTC Teams Win at Drill Team Competition

posted Jan 16, 2015, 11:56 AM by BGPS Web

PHS, BGHS AFJROTC Teams Win at Drill Team Competition

January 16, 2015

Prairie and Battle Ground high schools' AFJROTC won numerous team and individual medals in a variety of events on Jan. 10 at Bethel High School in the Columbia River Division Competition.

The Prairie High School Color Guard placed first and third in the rankings.

The Physical Fitness team took fourth. Also in physical fitness, Nikki Willson won the "Iron Woman" title with second place and Josh Hauxhurst won the title of "Iron Man" with his sixth place success. 

The Armed Team won second place overall. The PHS Armed Team's Commander, Taylor Harper, took first place, as did the Armed Single, Andrew Friason. Armed Duals Kenny Wilson and JM Smithline also earned first place rankings, and Kenny Wilson of the Individual Armed Regulation Drill won second place.

PHS' Unarmed Team Commander, Adriana Roncarati, won fourth place. In the Unarmed Duals category, Adriana Roncarati and Tara Guinn both ranked in first place while Kymberlee and Logan Gibert achieved third place. The team had an overall third place achievement.

The PHS Marksmanship Team's top individual sporter was Chloe Nielson, who came in first, and the top Individual Precision member, Connor Moore, won a second place ranking. The Marksmanship Team Sporter category won an overall third place and the Precision category came in with an overall second.

The Battle Ground High School Armed Drill Team won third place. Armed Drill Team Commander, Ryan Williamson, won second place.

The Unarmed Drill Team won first place overall, and Unarmed Commander Sidney Bodin took first place.

The BGHS Unarmed Individual Tap Out medal for third place went to Luke Terry.

The BGHS first and second Color Guards both earned fourth place rankings.

The BGHS Precision Air Rifle Team won first place overall. Individual Precision Air Rifle member Caspar Schadler won first place. Team members Nolan Alvarino and Lindsay Owens won third and fourth place respectively. Battle Ground High School's Air Rifle Team is undefeated and will be going to the Air Rifle National Championships in Phoenix, Ariz. Feb. 18-22.