Board Members, Core Beliefs and Policies

Battle Ground Public Schools are governed by a five-person elected Board of Directors. They serve four-year terms, with three of the terms expiring in a given odd-numbered year and the other two expiring in the next odd-numbered year. That ensures experience and continuity on the Board.

Each director resides in one of five geographic divisions of the 271-square-mile district, thereby guaranteeing a geographic balance on the Board. In both primary and general elections, all registered voters in the school district are eligible to vote in all of the races on that year’s ballot. Under state law, the office of school board director is nonpartisan.

Directors are unpaid volunteers. The only compensation they receive is a small meeting stipend to offset the costs of attending meetings.

Contact Us

Send one email to all directors (Individual director emails can be found below with their contact information.).
Director group email address

Denny Waters, Board Secretary and Superintendent
Email Mr. Waters

Sandy U’Ren, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent and Board of Directors
Email Ms. U’Ren

Battle Ground Public Schools Board of Directors

Director Jackie Maddux

Jackie Maddux, President
Director District 5

Term Expires: 2025

About Jackie

Jackie Maddux is an accounting manager for Clark Public Utilities. She has a bachelor’s degree in accounting and business administration. Four of Jackie’s children graduated from Battle Ground Public Schools and during that time, Jackie was an active volunteer for the district. She served six years with the Prairie High School Boosters, Grad Night Committee and multiple sports teams. Jackie is currently a volunteer with the Battle Ground Education Foundation, where she continues to support Battle Ground students.

“Being able to give back to the community and serve where there is a need, all while doing something I am passionate about—it’s an added bonus.”

Mark Watrin

Mark Watrin, Vice President
Director District 4

Term Expires: 2023

About Mark

Mark Watrin is a retired teacher who taught at CASEE and BGHS. He coached wrestling at BGHS and coached soccer for Prairie Soccer Club. His wife, Donna, taught at Pleasant Valley and Glenwood primary schools. Both of their children graduated from Prairie High School.

Mark continues to help elementary teachers provide quality science experiences for their students by advocating for outdoor learning environments and volunteering his time. He is on a legislative committee supported by WSSDA that advocates for school districts. Mark is also board member of the Washington Science Teachers Association.

Mary Snitily

Mary Snitily
Director District 1

Term Expires: 2025

About Mary

After 38 years in Richland, Washington, Mary Snitily and her husband, Richard, moved to the Battle Ground area to be near their children and grandchildren, four of whom attend Battle Ground schools. Mary spent 23 years in education as a teacher, principal, assistant superintendent and educational trainer in both public and private schools. She visited classrooms and worked with school staff across the Western United States. Mary has served on numerous boards and committees, including the Washington State Curriculum Advisory Committee, WSU GEAR UP Board and two private school boards. Mary values being a servant leader and success facilitator for all students, staff and parents.

Andrew Lawhon

Andrew Lawhon
Director District 2

Temporary appointment through November 2023

About Andrew

Andrew Lawhon has more than 12 years of experience working in the legal field and holds a Bachelor of Arts and Juris Doctor from Gonzaga University. Currently he is an attorney at Jeffrey D. Barrar, P.S. and Clark County District Court judge pro tempore. He is involved in judging middle and high school mock trials, leading youth activities at his local church and participating in the Knights of Columbus. Andrew also serves on the board of directors of the nonprofit Aquinas Vancouver. He and his wife are the parents of seven children, some of whom attend Battle Ground schools.

Ted Champine

Ted Champine
Director District 3

Term Expires: 2025

About Ted

Ted Champine is a local business owner. He has 17 years of experience in the Air Force, including active duty, Air National Guard and the Reserve. Champine also holds a Bachelor of Science in Construction Management from the University of Alaska Anchorage. In his spare time, he coaches youth football. He and his wife are the parents of three sons who attend Battle Ground schools.

Sora Tolley - Board Photo 240x300 - July 2022

Sora Tolley
Student Representative
Battle Ground High School

Term Expires: June 2024

Julia Stiffler

Julia Stiffler
Student Representative
River HomeLink High School

Term Expires: June 2025

2022-2025 Core Beliefs

The Battle Ground Public Schools board of directors believes that:

High-quality, personalized instruction leads to challenging, engaging learning environments that graduate students who are prepared for college and/or careers. The district supports instructional staff members with resources and professional development to reach this expectation.

Students learn best in safe environments that support and promote their physical, social and emotional well-being through extracurricular activities, school sports, appropriate learning resources and clear expectations.

Mutually beneficial partnerships that foster two-way communication with families and the community increase engagement and benefit student learning.

Financial responsibility and transparency ensure spending that maximizes student achievement and success.

Staff members are vital to the success of the district. Each staff member brings unique and valuable knowledge, skills, talents and expertise to their role, and their contributions are acknowledged and respected.

Student voice is valuable and should be nurtured. Students’ experiences are enriched when they are heard and supported.

School Board Policies

Board policies are stored in BoardDocs for easy viewing. Click on the link below and then link on the “Policies” tab, and then on the “Active” tab.

The information belongs to the public. While parts of personnel and student records are private, much of the information gathered and recorded by school districts, as with any government agency in Washington, is a matter of public record and open to public scrutiny. Likewise, meetings of the elected members of the School Board are open except under certain circumstances. The Washington attorney general has created a guide to both laws, accessible at:

Serving on the school board

The Washington State School Directors’ Association and Battle Ground Public Schools have prepared information for residents who are curious to learning more about the role of a school board member.

WSSDA’s guide “What Makes a Great School Board Member?” (PDF)

BGPS information for board candidates (PDF)


icon 11104 N.E. 149th Street,
Brush Prairie, WA 98606

iconShipping & Receiving: All Locations
400 N. Parkway Ave. Battle Ground, WA 98604

iconMailing Address: P.O. Box 200
Battle Ground, WA 98604