Board of Directors

Battle Ground Public Schools' Board of Directors, from left to right: Ken Root, Mavis Nickels, Monty Anderson, Tina Lambert, and Troy McCoy.

Upcoming Public Meetings

(AGENDAS on Board Docs)

      Upcoming Regular Meetings (2nd and 4th Mondays of the month):
  • February 26, 2018, 6:00 p.m. Lewisville Campus, Room C-26
  • March 12, 2018, 6:00 p.m. Lewisville Campus, Room C-26
  • March 26, 2018, 6:00 p.m. Lewisville Campus, Room C-26
      Special Meetings:
  • February 26, 2018, 4:30 p.m. Lewisville Campus, Room C-20


General BGPS Board Meeting Information 

All scheduled board meetings this school year will be at the 
Lewisville Campus, 406 NW Fifth Ave., Building C, Room C-26 unless otherwise posted. The Board will meet most months on the 2nd and 4th Monday at 6:00 p.m. for their Regular Board Meetings. Work Sessions will be added as deemed necessary at the second meeting of the month. Please see the calendar below for the complete listing.

Calendar - Regular Board Meetings - 2017 - 2018

Individuals with disabilities who may need a modification to participate in a meeting should contact the superintendent's office no later than three days before a regular meeting and as soon as possible in advance of a special meeting so that special arrangements can be made. You can reach the superintendent's office by calling (360) 885-5302 or email

2017-2019 Board Goals

Meeting Minutes

Click Here for Past Meeting Minutes through 2013. Minutes for later meetings are found under BoardDocs within each meeting archive.

Items for upcoming board meetings are submitted by staff for approval about 10 days prior to the meeting. Deadlines for agenda items can be found here.

District Maps

Click here for Director-districts map following 2010 Census

School Board Policies

Board policies are stored in BoardDocs for easy viewing. Click on the link below and then link on the "Policies" tab, and then on the "Active" tab.

Click Here for Current School Board Policies 

The information belongs to the public. While parts of personnel and student records are private, much of the information gathered and recorded by school districts, as with any government agency in Washington, is a matter of public record and open to public scrutiny. Likewise, meetings of the elected members of the School Board are open except under certain circumstances. The Washington attorney general has created a guide to both laws, accessible at:

Battle Ground Public Schools are governed by a five-person elected Board of Directors. They serve four-year terms, with three of the terms expiring in a given odd-numbered year and the other two expiring in the next odd-numbered year. That ensures experience and continuity on the Board.

Each director resides in a separate one of five geographic divisions of the 271-square-mile district, thereby guaranteeing a geographic balance on the Board. In both primary and general elections, all registered voters in the entire school district are eligible to vote in all of the races on that year’s ballot. Under state law, the office of school board director is nonpartisan.

BG Board, Briefly

For past editions of BG Board, Briefly, which summarizes action taken by the Battle Ground School Board in its meetings, click here.

Serving on the school board   

The Washington State School Directors' Association and Battle Ground Public Schools have prepared information for residents who are curious to learning more about the role of a school board member. 

WSSDA's guide "What Makes a Great School Board Member?" (PDF)

BGPS information for board candidates (PDF)

Battle Ground Public Schools Board of Directors 

Contact Information

Monty Anderson 

Vice President

Director District 1

22630 NE Worthington Rd. 

Yacolt, WA 98675

Phone: (360) 686-8066


Term Expires: 2021

Ken Root


Director District 2

20519 NE 245th Ave. 

Battle Ground, WA 98604 

Phone: (360) 666-9575


Term Expires: 2019

   Troy McCoy

   Director District 3

    2213 SW 12th St.

    Battle Ground, WA 98604
    Phone: (360) 901-2884

    Term Expires: 2021

    Mavis Nickels

    Director District 4

     16323 NE 94th Ave.  

      Battle Ground, WA 98604
      Phone: (360) 573-9785

      Term Expires: 2019

    Tina Lambert
     Director District 5
      5506 NE 114th St. 
      Vancouver, WA 98686
      Phone: (360) 433-7141


     Term Expires: 2021