BGPS announces administrative changes for the 2022-23 school year

June 2, 2022

Battle Ground Public Schools is announcing the following administrative changes for the 2022-23 school year.


Eric SakshaugKelly GorbyKelly Gorby will be the new principal at Yacolt Primary School. Gorby, who was previously assistant principal in Yacolt, takes over for Lynnell Tsugawa-Murray, who accepted a director position in the district office.


Eric Sakshaug is the new principal at Laurin Middle School. Sakshaug is a familiar face, having previously served as assistant principal at Laurin prior to this school year. He takes over for Travis Drake, who accepted a director position in the district office.


Lisa Ferguson-Hipolito will become the new assistant principal at Yacolt Primary, replacing Gorby. Ferguson-Hipolito was previously a Learning Support Programs coordinator with the district.

Angela Sauser becomes the new assistant principal at Pleasant Valley Middle School. Sauser replaces Anna Leeper, who has accepted a position in special services at the district office. Sauser was previously assistant principal at Amboy Middle School.

Lori Walker will become the new assistant principal at Amboy Middle School, replacing Sauser. Walker was previously an assistant principal at Glenwood Heights Primary. 

Jen Havig will become the new assistant principal at Glenwood Heights Primary, replacing Walker. Havig was previously an administrative intern in the district and an English teacher at Prairie High School.

Kelly Hart will join Prairie High School as a new assistant principal. She takes over for Lindsay McQuiston, who took a job outside of the district. Hart previously served as an assistant principal in the Gresham-Barlow school district.

Kelsey Kai will officially become the new assistant principal at Laurin Middle School. She was previously an administrative intern, serving temporarily as assistant principal at Laurin, and a 5th grade teacher.

Colin Rush will become the new assistant principal at Captain Strong Primary, pending board approval. Rush replaces Neil Varble, who is leaving for a position in another district. Rush previously was the Dean of Students at Prairie High School.


David Kennedy has been named Executive Director of School Improvement. The change is part of a restructuring initiated by the retirement of Dr. Jill Smith, Executive Director of Federal Programs & Instructional Support Services. The restructuring will help the district achieve its goals of providing high-quality instruction and safe and caring environments for all students. Kennedy’s previous title was Director of School Improvement. As the executive director, he will continue to oversee school improvement initiatives and assume some duties previously administered by Dr. Smith. Dr. Smith’s other duties will be handled by Lynnell Tsugawa-Murray, who has been named a director (see below). 

Lynnell Tsugawa-Murray will become the district’s Director of Federal Programs in the restructuring of positions previously held by Dr. Jill Smith, who is retiring, and David Kennedy.

Tamra Scheetz has been named Director of Instructional Interventions, replacing Sandy Mathewson, who accepted a position outside of the district.

Kellie Clay will be the Director of Special Services as part of a restructuring of that department. She was previously the Assistant Director of Special Services.

Travis Drake becomes the district’s Director of Instructional Leadership for high schools and ALEs. This is a new position.

Luke LeCount takes over as Director of Instructional Leadership overseeing the district’s six middle schools. LeCount replaces Angela Allen, who accepted a position outside of the district. LeCount was previously a principal at Jefferson Middle School in the Vancouver Public Schools district.


icon 11104 N.E. 149th Street,
Brush Prairie, WA 98606

iconP.O. Box 200
Battle Ground, WA 98604

icon(360) 885-5300


Read Our Newsletter